OS X Server 5 Removing/Uninstalling Completely For New Fresh Install

New OS X Server 5 is not part of operating system anymore. It is kind of standalone application. As it is an separated app we can delete/uninstall by deleting in Applications folder  or dropping in the trash-bin. But as it is a server app and contain many configuration/settings. Deleting the application is not enough to get rid of all these info. To make a clean install:

  • Launch Server.app
  • Destroy the Open Directory, then disable the component
  • Turn off all Server.app services (Web, DNS, all..)
  • Close Server.app and run command below in terminal:

  • Delete Server.app (Drop to Trash), wait about 5 seconds for the services to notice app deletion.
  • Delete the folder /Library/Server
  • Delete any certificates relating to the server in Keychain Access
  • Move Server.app back out of the Trash and into /Applications, or re-download from App Store

Now you have a fresh install of OS X  Server 5

Published on: 2016/03/08

3 comments on “OS X Server 5 Removing/Uninstalling Completely For New Fresh Install”

  1. Hi
    Unfortunately this doesn't completely reset the Open Directory/openldap settings and I need to find a way to do this without having to do a complete reinstall of OS X.
    slapconfig -destroyldapserver removes the database but doesn't remove the settings and I hoped your method would do that, but it doesn't seem to.

  2. Hi Richard,
    Sorry about that. It worked for me though.
    They made some new updates recently, maybe something has been changed in setup.

  3. Directly from Apple support: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204880

    If you're not able to remove an Open Directory (OD) master or replica using Server app, you can use the Terminal to remove them.
    These steps delete all existing server data related to Open Directory, including users and groups.
    Data in other services associated with these users and groups, while not removed, becomes inaccessible even if the same short name is used to create a new user. This is because data is associated with a user's Generated Unique Identifier (GUID). This number is always newly generated when you set up a user. For users to regain access to this data, it's recommended that you export users and groups before destroying your OD. An export using default settings includes GUIDs.
    Additionally it is recommended that you have a complete backup of your server before performing these steps.
    1. Close the Server app.
    2. Use the following command in Terminal.
    sudo slapconfig -destroyldapserver
    3. Restart the computer.
    Repeat these steps for any existing replica, as this article assumes the Open Directory structure can't be repaired. After using these steps, Open Directory should be set to "off" and ready to configure again from Server app.

Leave a Reply

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram